General Grand Chapter Royal Arch Masons International Awards

Ephraim Kirby Award

This prestigious award serves as an opportunity for the General Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons International to recognize extraordinary Companions who have attained past presiding rank in their Grand York Rite bodies (Lodge, Chapter, Council, Commandery); and who have then gone on to continue their work and commitment to service far beyond the term of their office and the normal boundaries of dedication.



Recipients - Mississippi

- 2016 Kenneth E. Dyer
- 2015 Jerry Lee Lewis
- 2014 Homer E. Sullivan, Jr.
- 2014 James M. Ward
- 2014 Jimmie L. Windham

Distinguished Service Medal

In 1951, the General Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons established the Distinguished Service Medal in Bronze to be awarded each year to a Royal Arch Mason in each Grand Chapter affiliated with the General Grand Chapter. The Bronze Medal is given in recognition of the recipient's outstanding & meritorious service to Royal Arch Masonry other than that of holding a Masonic Office as Past Grand High Priest or as a Grand Chapter Officer.

Bronze Medal Recipients - Mississippi



2020	Jack Hourgettes, Jr.
2019	David B. Fricke
2018	Jason A. Jefcoat
2017	Micky P. McMahan
2016	Jacky R. Bramlitt
2015	Thomas L. Cumberland
2014	George E. Frazier
2013	Terry G. Morgan
2012	Christopher M. Reid
2011	Fredrick H. Stephens
2010	Jerry W. Reeves
2009	Gregory A. Dykes
2008	Joe W. Vawters
2007	Edward G. Holland
2006	William Arlis Wheeler
2005	Gordon Nanney
2004	Bobby Phillips
2003	Wilbur Hartle
2002	Hollis Simpson
2001	Roger King
2000	George Brock
1999	Charles F. Huckaby
1998	Grady R. Partain

. . . .

1997	Robert D. Nielson
1996	Earl D. Barlow
1995	Billy Frank Smith
1994	Roger D. Howe
1993	Roger W. Mills, II
1992	James L. Lucas
1991	George J. Williams
1990	R. Marshall Shields
1989	Ralph T. Whitaker
1988	Danny W. Neal
1987	Billy J. Morrow
1986	Russell R. Lunstrum, Jr.
1985	Walter M. Mann
1984	Daniel W. Averett
1983	Jeffie C. Dukes
1982	Walter B. English
1981	Miles H. Byrd
1980	Winson L. George
1979	Harold J. Gardner
1978	John C. Hodges, Jr.
1977	Aaron E. Franks
1976	Van A. Evans
1975	Carlyle B. Able

1974	William G. Cotton
1973	Ira Lee Crawson
1972	Edward B. Robinson
1971	George H. Thomas
1970	Norman W. Shauer
1969	Charles T. Wallace
1968	W. F. Schoeneman, Sr.
1967	Marion R. Turner
1966	E. I. Parker
1965	E. W. Pope
1964	W. Neill Bogan
1963	John Z. Hanna
1962	E. E. Warmath
1961	Joseph Hanna
1960	Shelly Tartt
1959	John Henry Wooten
1958	T. E. Eastburn
1957	Grady H. Barnhill
1956	W. H. Jones
1955	D. D. Williams
1954	Laurence S. Russ
1953	George L. Gafford
1952	M. H. Barkley

The Silver Medal is awarded by the General Grand Chapter and is presented only once during each Triennium. It is presented for outstanding performance in the service of York Rite Masonry, but particularly in Royal Arch Masonry, not more than three such Silver Medals can presented at the Triennial Convocation from the selection at large.

Silver Medal Recipients - Mississippi



- 2020 William Arlis Wheeler
- 2002 Van A. Evans
- 1993 Earl D. Barlow

The Gold Medal is presented by the General Grand Chapter for outstanding national and international achievements in the Arts and Sciences, in Public Service, and in Business and learned professions. Not more than one medal maybe presented each year.



Gold Medal Recipients – Mississippi None

Ritual Jewel

Requirements are based on a cumulative point system in presentation of various roles within the Capitular Degrees that exhibit labored excellence in the quarries of our Craft can only be achieved through habituation of training, study and discipline.



Recipients - Mississippi

2008 Van A. Evans2018 William Arlis Wheeler

Veteran's Service Medal

Any companion or brother mason, in good standing, who currently serves in an active or reserve unit; or has honorably served in an armed force, foreign or domestic, is eligible to wear the Veteran's Service Medal.



Recipients - Mississippi

David Collette Shelton Dickerson Rex C. Hasty Xerxes Z. Herrington, II Jack Hourgettes, Jr. Joe R. Lee, Jr. Terry Morgan Arthur L. Patrick Leon Rackley William Arlis Wheeler Freddie C. Zehner Joe W. Vawters Thomas L. Cumberland Kenneth E. Dyer Frederick H. Stephens Jerry W. Reeves Jimmie L. Windham John B. McKelvy

Sweetheart Award

The General Grand Chapter has introduced a new award for the Ladies of our Royal Arch Masons. The award was developed by the General Grand High Priest, Emory J. Ferguson, and is available to Royal Arch Masons as a way to show their appreciation for the support and encouragement their Ladies have given them throughout the years.



Recipients - Mississippi

- 2019 Sandra D. McKelvy
- 2018 Brenda C. Windham
- 2018 Cindy A. Reeves
- 2015 Carolyn D. Stephens
- 2011 Gloria Dyer
- 2009 Yukie Shafer

Grand Chapter of Mississippi Honors

Grand Chapter Membership Award

Each year, the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons in Mississippi recognizes one Chapter who has attained the highest number of new members in the preceding year.

Recipients - Mississippi

2020	
2019	Gulf Coast No. 121
2018	Hillyer No. 113
2017	Desoto No. 148
2016	Jackson No. 5
2015	Corinth No. 76
2014	Vicksburg No. 3
2013	Tupelo No. 109
2012	Wilmon Stuart No. 146
2011	Gulfport No. 121
2010	Corinth No. 76
2009	Desoto No. 148
2008	Desoto No. 148
2007	Lafayette No. 33
2006	West Point No. 95
2005	Ward No. 73
2004	Booneville No. 115
2003	New Albany No. 49
2002	Calhoun City No. 152
2001	West Point No. 95
2000	Gulfport No. 121
1999	Desoto No. 148
1998	Desoto No. 148
1997	Gulfport No. 121
1996	Vicksburg No. 3
1995	Booneville No. 115
1994	McConico No. 96
1993	McConico No. 96
1992	Hilyer No. 113
1991	Dewitt Clinton No. 12

1990 Shields No. 18 1989 Gulfport No. 121 1988 Tupelo No. 109 Lafayette No. 33 1987 1986 Kosciusko No. 20 1985 Gulfport No. 121 1984 New Albany No. 49 1983 Hattiesburg No. 114 1982 Desoto No. 148 1981 Okolona No. 27 1980 Desoto No. 148 1979 Forrest Hill No. 156 1978 Forrest Hill No. 156 1977 Carthage No. 46 Newton No. 31 1976 1975 Ward No. 73 1974 Desoto No. 148 1973 Booneville No. 115 1972 Desoto No. 148 1971 Shields No. 18 1970 Union No. 141 1969 Shields No. 18 1968 Shields No. 18 Shields No. 18 1967 1966 Desoto No. 148 1965 Ward No. 73 1964 Okolona No. 27 Singing River No. 155 1963 Okolona No. 27 1962

T. Olin Gore Jr. Travelling Zerubbabel Apron

Each year, the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons in Mississippi recognizes one outstanding Companion who has demonstrated outstanding proficiency in Royal Arch ritual. The recipient only possesses the Apron for one year, at which time he passes it on to his successor.



Recipients – Mississippi

- 2020 Norman Ried Quarles, Jr.
- 2019 Clyde L. Herron, Jr.
- 2018 Michael Baker
- 2017 Jack Hourgettes, Jr.
- 2016 Keith Ballard
- 2015 Lane Dossett
- 2014 John Perkins
- 2013 Dorvell Bugg
- 2012 Harold Marlar
- 2011 Kiely Walker
- 2010 Wilbur Hartle
- 2009 Terry Nowell
- 2008 William Arlis Wheeler
- 2007 Terry Morgan2006 George Frazier
- 2005 Jerry W. Reeves
- 2004 James W. Whitaker
- 2003 Terry G. Morgan
- 2002 Joe R. Brown

- 2001 John F. Bailey 2000 Charles E. Huckaby 1999 Frederick H. Stephens 1998 Terry W. Nowell Lindsey W. Mundy 1997 Albert C. Dollahite 1996 Roger D. Howe 1995 1994 James A. Davis Jimmie L. Windham 1993 1992 Henry A. Lynch 1991 Ellis F. Fehler 1990 George Jasper Williams John C. Bassett 1989 1988 Robert L. Davis 1987 Robert M. Shields 1986 J. W. Johnson 1985 Daniel W. Averett
- 1984 Daniel W. Averett